A Different Kind of 花見 (Hanami) with Angsana Blossoms

If you didn’t know what is 花見 (hanami) you can refered it to Wikipedia. Shortly, we could say that hanami is the Japanese traditional custom of enjoying the beauty of flowers mostly cherry blossoms. I only saw it on pictures. Very beautiful, indeed. (I browsed for the pictures and found it on journalofanamateurjapanologist blog. The blog was pretty and neat! I love it.)

This is the sakura blossoms. Japanese enjoy this view every year with their family by having a picnic under the tree.

I have posted a picture of angsanas blooming in my Twitter account before. But I thought that probably people would appreciate the beautiful view thoroughly if I write it on a blog. And so here I am compiling photos of blooming angsanas from my hard disk drive. XD

Pretty, right? It looks a bit wet because we had a very light shower before the pics was taken.

Before we proceed to what I want to write it wouldn’t harm us to know a little about angsana. I got a sneak-peak of it from Wikipedia:

It is a large deciduous tree growing to 30–40 m tall, with a trunk up to 2 m diameter. The leaves are 12–22 cm long, pinnate, with 5–11 leaflets, the girth is 12-34 m wide. The flowers are produced in panicles 6–13 cm long containing a few to numerous flowers; flowering is from February to May in the Philippines, Borneo and the Malay peninsula. They are slightly fragrant and have yellow or orange-yellow petals.

This was the close up shots of the yellow petals fallen on the road.

Well, even though Wikipedia said that angsanas used to flowering from February to May but actually here in Indonesia they are flowering twice as soon as the first rain comes.  So it usually occurred on October or November. And because they only bloom twice, the yellowish sights of their petals are actually a very rare occurrence; but once it occurred, it was magnificent.

This picture was taken a few years ago. You would feel the glory as the yellow petals covered almost all the road surface.

Moving on to what I want to write, my campus has a bunch of angsanas on every part of it. Usually the angsana trees are tall and have big trunks (I believed that those trees are older than me), they had wide canopies too. They made my trip to the faculty not as scorching as it should be. I usually enjoy the view of the fallen petals of angsana flowers right outside my faculty cafeteria.

This path would let to our cafeteria.

Angsana flowers would likely bloom after the first rain then they would continue blooming for two days. The air would be thick with their smell and once all green foliage would turn into bright yellow canopies. It would be a very hard times for the sweepers to sweep all of the fallen petals.

The title of the picture is self-explanatory, I believe. LOL.

I think that’s all I want to share. Short, isn’t it? I know. I just can’t seem to think about a deeper story since it was really difficult to express the feeling. LOL. Anyway, that’s a 花見 (hanami) for me. Of course, not with having a picnic or such. We aren’t Japanese. How do you think about it? XD

Would you share your mind about this post?

